SmoothSmartStrong

Swim Smooth, Bike Smart and Run Strong!

Smooth…

WOW…20 days out from Ironman Arizona! So close to go there is not much more I can do to prepare for the big race! I need to trust my training and fitness levels and just get my head right!

As I swim in the pool and try to imagine 3000 other swimmers around me, all kicking and thrashing trying to get position on each other, I try to remember SMOOTH! Swimming smooth sounds so easy and simple, but it is far from it! My first few laps of any swim set are always my fastest and easiest – why? Because I am so relaxed and smooth! Once i get warmed up, my mind starts trying to “help” me swim better and I end up fighting it more.

Staying relaxed and letting my muscle memory take over will be key for me during my race. If I can get through the swim nice and smooth, I will be set up for a great bike. My mind will be clear, I will not be frazzeled and I will be ready for a smart bike.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a comment